Freedom Autosport Extends Record Continental Tire Challenge Winning Streak
Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Freedom Autosport set the record for consecutive IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge victories at a single venue back in 2014, when Andrew Carbonell and Randy Pobst gave the team its fourth straight triumph at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

The team has continued to make winning a habit at Mazda’s namesake track. Carbonell took his third straight at the circuit in 2015, when he won with Liam Dwyer in the No. 26 Mazda MX-5.

Carbonell’s personal winning streak came to an end with a second place-finish in the recent event, but Chad McCumbee and Stevan McAleer won in the team’s No. 25 ModSpace Mazda MX-5 to extend the record to six consecutive victories.

“We’ve been fighting with Freedom Autosport the last three years to get a win at Mazda Raceway, so when we joined Freedom, we knew they had strong cars,” said McAleer, who shared the 2015 ST championship with McCumbee for CJ Wilson Racing in 2015. “Winning here is a very special moment for us. Freedom did an amazing job getting the car where it needed to be.”

For Carbonell, it was his sixth consecutive podium finish for Freedom Autosport at Mazda Raceway with a season-best second-place showing with Dwyer.

“The winning streak continued for Freedom, and the podium streak continued for me,” said Carbonell. “It was a great race – Freedom Autosport always gives us such a great car. This was actually a new car, and to get it together in only two 45-minute practice sessions was pretty impressive.”