Porsche’s CJ Wilson Racing Seeking First GS Victory In Continental Tire Challenge Race At Lime Rock Park
Wednesday, July 20, 2016

CJ Wilson Racing takes a pair of new Porsches to Lime Rock Park this weekend, seeking its first Grand Sport (GS) class victory as the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge opens the second half of its 2016 season as part of the IMSA WeatherTech Northeast Grand Prix.

Marc Miller and Danny Burkett co-drive the No. 33 ONE Capital Management/MotorOilMatters.org Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport for the team owned by Major League Baseball pitcher C.J. Wilson. The duo is riding a streak of three consecutive podium finishes, including second-place results at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Tyler McQuarrie and Till Bechtolscheimer share the team’s No. 35 Cayman.

“We are just past the halfway point of the season and I can look back at some frustrating ‘coulda, woulda, shoulda’ moments to grab our first win of the season,” Miller said. “When we look at things overall and where we sit after five rounds we know we can make improvements, we know we can execute better and luck is going to swing our way. It is up to us to find an edge somewhere and capitalize on the opportunities that present themselves over the next five races. Hopefully we can put ourselves in a position to do that and get that elusive first GS victory.”

Porsche’s new turn-key race car is already a winner in 2016 GS competition. Trent Hindman and Cameron Cassells won consecutive races at Sebring, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and Watkins Glen in the No. 12 Bodymotion Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport, but are fourth in the standings after missing the season opener at Daytona.

Multimatic Motorsports is coming off its second victory of the season, winning on its home turf at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park with drivers Scott Maxwell and Billy Johnson in the No. 15 Ford Shelby GT350R-C. The pair extended their GS class-leading margin to 10 points over Miller and Burkett, 158-148. Maxwell and Johnson also enter the race as defending GS champions at Lime Rock.

ST Points-Leading RS1 Porsche Looks To Continue Momentum

Spencer Pumpelly and Nick Galante have taken command of the Street Tuner (ST) class battle by winning at Watkins Glen and placing second at CTMP in the No. 17 RS1 Legistics/RickieFowler.com Porsche Cayman. They now lead Freedom Autosport drivers and defending class champions Chad McCumbee and Stevan McAleer by 14 points, 145-131.

“Every race from here on out is going to be critical,” said Pumpelly, who finished third at Lime Rock for RS1 in 2015. “We have such a competitive field. Of the 30 cars in ST, 20 of them can win on any given weekend. We were 10th in the championship last year at this point, and now to have the lead is a testament to the RS1 guys making sure Nick and I have mechanically sound and competitive cars every weekend.”

McCumbee and McAleer, drivers of the No. 25 Freedom Autosport ModSpace Mazda MX-5, are defending winners at Lime Rock. Freedom Autosport also won in 2014, with Connecticut driver Liam Dwyer scoring a popular victory three years after the Marine lost his lower left leg and sustained near-fatal injuries in combat in Afghanistan. Dwyer, a native of Waterbury who grew up in nearby Litchfield, is joined by Andrew Carbonell in the No. 26 SemperFiFund.org Mazda MX-5.

Ryan Eversley is set to return to the No. 93 HART Honda Civic Si, joining Chad Gilsinger, who is currently third in the ST standings.

Sarah Cattaneo and Owen Trinkler were ST winners at CTMP in only their second race in the No. 44 CRG-I Do Borrow/A&C Properties Nissan Altima Coupe. The pair – which won earlier this year in a Honda Civic Si at Sebring – are fourth in the championship, 25 points behind the leaders.


  • Automatic Racing returns to the GS class with the No. 99 Invisible Glass Aston Martin Vantage of Rob Ecklin. Also back in action in the GS class is Team TGM’s two car entry, with Ted Giovanis and David Murry sharing the No. 46 and No. 64 JKTG Foundation/Camp Boggy Creek Porsche Cayman GT4s. Racing in the ST ranks for the first time since Daytona is the No. 66 Riley Mazda MX-5 for Connecticut brothers A.J. and Jameson Riley.
  • Kieron O’Rourke, one of the most consistent master racers in Skip Barber Series history, will make his series debut in the No. 7 Rebel Rock Racing Borla/Urban Grid Porsche Cayman. He will join Lee Carpentier of Kent, Conn., a three-time Lime Rock competitor who finished fifth last year for RS1.
  • Also making his series debut is Phil Bloom of New York City. The first-year pro completes in the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama, and is currently fourth in the Gold standings with second-place finishes at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and Watkins Glen. He joins Dillon Machavern in the No. 18 RS1 Romero Investment Advisors/Heritage Motorsports Porsche Cayman.
  • The MINI JCW Team scored its second top-five finish at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, with Derek Jones and Mat Pombo placing a season-best fourth in the No. 73 Shop Mini USA/ATELIER MINI JCW. The pair finished second at Road Atlanta in the car’s debut at the 2015 season finale. Ethan Low and James Vance return in the team’s No. 37 Shopminiusa.com/St. Petersburg Clearwater/ExpoSystems MINI, while Dr. Ramin Abdolvahabi and Nate Norenberg will co-drive the No. 52 Shopminiusa.com/Children’s Tumor Foundation MINI.
  • Continental Tire Challenge practice will begin on Friday at 10:05 a.m. ET, with qualifying at 3:25 p.m. The two-hour, 30-minute race will take the green flag on Saturday at 10 a.m. ET. The race will be streamed live on IMSA.tv and the IMSA mobile app, and will be broadcast on FS1 at noon ET on Sunday, July 31.