McQuarrie Earns Motul Pole Award at Road America for Championship-Leading Carbahn Motorsports in IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge
Saturday, August 3, 2019

Tyler McQuarrie will lead the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge field to green Saturday afternoon after earning the Motul Pole Award earlier in the day at Road America.

Driving the No. 39 Carbahn Motorsports Audi R8 GT4, McQuarrie posted a fastest lap of two minutes, 16.512 (106.750 mph) for his second career pole position in Pilot Challenge and the first for the team this season.

“We’ve been off a tenth, a half a tenth a couple of times and I literally stopped counting,” said McQuarrie, who with co-driver Jeff Westphal leads the Grand Sport (GS) championship standings. “We knew coming here we would have a really good car. The car from Turn 5 to The Kink is unreal, but our top speed is down. Qualifying is great, it’s great to get on pole, we can lead the pack. Racing-wise, it’s going to be tough.”

Owen Trinkler in the No. 46 Team TGM Mercedes-AMG GT4 – the winner of the previous two Motul Pole Awards prior to Saturday – will start second on the grid with co-driver Hugh Plumb. 

In his first IMSA start, Indian race car driver Akhil Rabindra will start third in the No. 09 Automatic Racing Aston Martin Vantage GT4 alongside co-driver Kris Wilson. 

In the TCR class, the Motul Pole Award was a welcome bounce back for Shelby Blackstock in the No. 37 L.A. Honda World Racing Honda Civic TCR. Blackstock and co-driver Tom O’Gorman won the first two races of the season before slipping recently, not earning a top-10 finish in the last two races. 

“We’ve had really good success, we have a really good team,” said Blackstock, who posted a fastest lap time of 2:19.712 (104.305 mph). “The biggest thing here in the Michelin Pilot Challenge is to have the greatest co-driver lineup. You have to have really strong start and finishing drivers and a really good team behind you. Very much we have a good situation. We just have to capitalize on it.”

Winners of the most recent race at Lime Rock Park two weeks ago, Mark Wilkins and Michael Lewis, will start second on the grid following Wilkins’ qualifying effort in the No. 98 Bryan Herta Autosport Hyundai Veloster N TCR. 

Nick Galante will start third with co-driver James Vance in the No. 23 FAST MD Racing Audi RS3 LMS. 

The Road America 120 will go green at 5 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. CT on Saturday, August 3. The race can be streamed live on with IMSA Radio commentary. 

For updates throughout the race, join the conversation on social media using the hashtags #IMPC and #IMSA. Fans can also vote for the Forgeline Spirit of the Race team or driver by tweeting at @IMSARadio with #ForgelineSOTR.